Skip to main content

Newsletter LGT Young Soloists

Philipp Schupelius

Philipp was born in 2003 in Berlin, Germany. He began playing the cello at the age of eight with Ulrich Voss and three years ago became his junior student at the Hanns Eisler University of Music. In 2014 and 2015 Philipp received funding from the Berlin International Academy of Music. A year later, he participated in master classes for cello at the Kronberg Academy and was awarded the Kronberg Academy's Scholarship.

In March 2017 Philipp made his debut with the Bergische Symphoniker playing Tchaikovsky’s Rococo Variations. In August he will play a solo recital at Hoeri Music Festival with works by Beethoven, Schumann, Schubert and Paganini.

Philipp Schupelius won the 2015 Dussmann Competition for Young Students in Berlin, as well as being a winner of the International Music Competition St Blasien. Additionally, Philipp Schupelius won several first prizes in Germany’s National Youth Competition Jugend musiziert. In May this year, he received the first prize with the highest possible score in the Federal Jugend musiziert Competition’s Cello Solo category, and was a winner of both special prizes awarded by the Deutsche Stiftung Musikleben and the Cello Academy Rutesheim respectively.

Philipp attended master classes of Wolfgang Emanuel Schmitt, Wolfgang Boettcher and Claudio Bohorquez, and participated in the international chamber music project Mit Musik Miteinander 2017 offered by the Kronberg Academy.

Philipp Schupelius

Instrument: Cello

Birthday: April 30th 2003

Place of Birth: Germany



International Music Competition St. Blasien: Newcomer’s Prize

Jugend musiziert – 1st Prize with distinction, Category: Cello Solo

Deutsche Stiftung Musikleben: Special Prize for the highest score in the category

Cello Akademie Rutesheim: Scholarship

Kronberg Academy Master Classes: Kronberg Academy Scholarship 17/18


Dussmann Competition for Young Students in Berlin: 1st Prize

Internationale Musikakademie, Berlin: Scholarship


Jugend musiziert – 1st Prize, Category: String Ensemble

Internationale Musikakademie, Berlin: Scholarship



Hochschule für Musik Hanns Eisler, Berlin, Cello Class Prof. Ulrich Voss


Prof. Ulrich Voss, Berlin

Zur Solistenübersicht